National Annual Awards Competition

The NSAL National Annual Awards Competition offers young artists an exceptional opportunity to perform for a panel of top-ranked professional judges.  The area of the competition rotates between four fields:  Drama, Musical Theater, Dance, and Instrumental Music.  The first round of competition takes place at the Chapter level, and the Chapter First Place winner participates in the National competition, at the NSAL Annual Meeting.   The local chapter will provide financial support for the winner's participation at the National Annual Awards Competition.  

Annual Awards, Prizes and Eligibility

The First Place Chapter Winner receives $2,000, and the opportunity to compete for several National prizes of up to $12,000.  The Second Place Chapter Winner receives $1,000 and the Third Place Chapter Winner receives $750. 

The St. Louis Chapter Competition is open to any U.S. citizen or legal resident living in the greater St. Louis NSAL region, including Missouri, southern Iowa, and southern Illinois.

Competition contestants must have reached the age of 18 but not yet reached the age of 28 as of the date of the competition. They should not have equity status or be under professional management as of the date of the competition. 

Annual Awards, Application Form and Rules

The 2019 Annual Awards Competition is in Drama.  Although applications are no longer being accepted, the rules and application forms are available as pdf files at the bottom of this page.  The 2020 Annual Awards Competition will take place in Spring 2020.   When application forms and rules are available in Fall 2019, they will be posted as downloadable pdf files at the bottom of this page.   The application deadline will be in February 2020.

Dorothy Lincoln Smith Classical Voice Award

The Dorothy Lincoln Smith Classical Voice Award Competition is open to singers age 23 through 31.  The Award grants up to $10,000 in prizes, and the maximum individual award is $5,000.  Chapter winners will also receive an award of $250.  The next competition will take place in spring 2020

Dorothy Lincoln Smith Award Application Form and Rules

To see the Brochure (Rules) and Application Form for the 2019 Dorothy Lincoln Smith Competition, please download the pdf files at the bottom of the page.  The rules and application for the 2020 DLS Competition will be available in Fall 2019, and the application deadline for the next Competition will be in early February 2020.   Questions about the Competition should be addressed to the Dorothy Lincoln Smith Competition Chair, Linda Seibert,  

2019 National Competition (Drama)

2019-Drama-Competition-Rules (pdf)


Drama-Competition-Contacts (pdf)


NSAL 2019 Drama Application (pdf)


2019 Dorothy Lincoln Smith Voice Competition

DLS-Voice-Brochure-2019 (pdf)


DLS-Voice-Application-2019 (pdf)